Uncategorized

A PERSON IS A PERSON 2

Apparently people aren’t exactly apt to greeting or familiarising with other people especially when they’re dressed in orange overalls as they sweep the streets.

The first person I recognised and greeted merely managed a quick wave before running off to wherever. The next was a group of people from my secondary school, twins Osareme and Osaretin and their cousin Juliet. They were the wanna-be’s back then always following the cool girls up and down and giving them everybody’s gist, they were allowed to stick around and basically act as servant girls for them. Spiteful, hateful and hateable gossips, they could never keep their mouths shut or mind their own business. 

“I knew it, I told you it was her” Juliet said as I looked up when she called my name. They obviously hadn’t changed one bit in the 2 years we’d been apart for and didn’t want to believe that I was studying Geography in the university and I was rendering community service. As their car sped off I heard them squealing and laughing at my expense, probably thinking that I was a sanitation worker. 

The most painful experience that day was with one of my brother’s friends who I had a crush on. He was probably going home from work with a friend who was riding in the car with him, without thinking about it I waved him from where I was, temporarily forgetting my present state and circumstance. He didn’t even acknowledge me, he merely turned his face away and didn’t look in my direction again, and I was 101% sure that he’d seen me. 

We made eye contact for Chrissake! 

That experience had me feeling very awful, a different shade of embarrassed and a particularly bright hue of hurt. He didn’t greet me back because he was ashamed of me, he was ashamed of me because I was sweeping the streets. But there is more to me than a community service project. Why didn’t he greet back? It wasn’t like I was dressed indecently, I was only in orange overalls. A person is a person after all. 

My community service experience humbled me in more ways than I would ever have thought possible, it made me realise that there is a kind of stigma attached to people who do menial jobs like cleaners, gatemen, and the like. So ever since then I always take care to greet these people. Nobody should be belittled when trying to make a honest living that is morally acceptable. 

So let this be a lesson to one and to all; a person is a person no matter how small -Dr Seuss. 

______

So it’s a new week, positive vibes only, don’t let anyone bring you down and remember you are in charge of your own happiness. Walk in grace and favour. 

🍔 Cheeseburger 

Standard

4 thoughts on “A PERSON IS A PERSON 2

Leave a Reply

