EXP #1

EXP #1

I remember the day I met him.

I shivered in fear where I was being held by heavily armed men. My feet were as the branches of a feeble tree in a storm, my heart was racing 5,055 kilometres per hour , and my breathing? It was as if my asthma was going to come back. And it did. 

I think that’s why he had mercy on me.

A couple of seconds into my attack, he walked into the stuffy, cramped, dimly lit holding room that was the boys quarters of his gigantic house.

“Sir” I heard one of the armed guys say, and I felt him pointing at me.

I crumpled to the floor and as I fell I got a glimpse of him, more than that, I looked into his eyes, and I could have sworn I saw compassion swirl in those cold unfeeling eyes for the fraction of a second we had eye contact.

“Get her into the car, to the nearest hospital. Now!” he ordered.

.

“You stole from me” he said after the doctors had declared me stable.

Those eyes. Cold, hard, lifeless. I shivered under the covers of the hospital bed, I tried to gulp but the spit got stuck somewhere in my throat and I began to choke. He stood there, unfazed as my eyes watered and I beat my chest.

“You stole from me” he repeated. My gulp was well executed this time and also very audible, I didn’t know what to say, and in those moments the not-so-well-bleached white hospital covers was the most fascinating thing in my universe, like seriously it had this huge washed-off brown blotch on it, and I could bet half my money it was either someone’s vomit or blood.

“Are you even listening?!”

I snapped back to reality instantly and looked up to see a livid young man before me. I gulped yet again.

“Your little juvenile escapade cost me alot, and you’re going to work for me till I get back the last kobo on all the money I spent on that car and your hospital bill, so I own you till your debt is done”

The way he said it, with so much authority, my brain couldn’t connect with my mouth to even utter a single word of protest.

“Do you understand?”

Blink, blink.

“Do. You. Understand?”

The connection sparked to life and I heard myself saying yes before I understood the import of what I was saying.

He gave me a smile then, one that sent jitters down to my toes and those cold eyes caused goosebumps to spring up on my arm.

_______

Yes, this is a story, which I’m going to be updating every Friday. What do you think? It’s still the beginning so you ought to be a little bit confused sha. Somebody pray I get the inspiration and motivation to continue.

Click here for EXP #1.1

A.N.T.I.C.I.P.A.T.E my next post on Sunday.

🍔 Cheeseburger. 

Standard

4 thoughts on “EXP #1

Leave a Reply

