Uncategorized

CLAIMING A NEW IDENTITY 

She walked into the kitchen and the first thing she saw was the glass cup. 

The glass cup sitting in the sink. 

The glass cup that was half-filled with leftover juice, her favourite juice. 

She felt the urge to snatch it up from the sink and pour it’s content down her throat. Her mouth watered as her tongue anticipated the lemony taste. 

She walked closer to the sink, the sink was clean. The sink was nearly empty, 2 ceramic plates sat within it, both holding grains of leftover jollof rice, the plate nearest to her had a half-eaten drumstick. 

There was no one else around, she could quickly do justice to the drumstick and down the content of the glass before anyone came in. Sighing, she shook her head. He’d told her not to eat things like that again, he’d told her that he’d changed her status, no respectable person ate leftovers from the sink, and she was now a respectable person. 

Upon realisation of her new status, she poured away the content of the glass upon the ceramic plates and in turn poured their content into the nearby bin. 

“You were going to eat it abi?” Lucy said, startling her, as she came in through the backdoor. 

“No” she gulped “I was sent to wash the plates”

“And you were about to eat the visitors leftovers- ajeku that is meant for the dustbin.”

“No” she protested weakly “I wasn’t”

“Yes, you were. And you know why?  Because you’re a street rat, and once a street rat always a street rat. You are a filthy low-life, disgusting. Nothing good can ever come out of you. You may be here living in this nice mansion, but you don’t belong here. This isn’t your life, you belong on the streets”

“Stop! Stop it!” she screamed “I belong here, I deserve this. He set me free, he paid my debts, he brought me out of prison, he changed my name and gave me a new one, he changed my life because he knows I’m worth it. I know I am worth it. Gone are the days when I used to scrounge around dumpsters and dustbins. That’s not me, not anymore”

Lucy shook her head “You don’t deserve it. You’re not meant to be here”

“I know I don’t deserve it, but he has pardoned me and saved me from judgement and condemnation. I’ve been given a second chance, I wont waste it”

“That’s what you think, wait till you mess up. He will be so disap–”

“Enough Lucy” his booming voice echoed through the kitchen, he stood in the doorway, apparently, he’d been listening to their little conversation all along. 

“Erm… I… You see… I… ” Lucy began to stammer. 

“I said enough, leave her be. I had mercy on her and decided to save her, it’s not your duty to condemn her”

“Yes sir” Lucy said, with her eyes to the ground as she made her way out of the kitchen 

2 Corinthians 5:17 KJV
Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

John 8:36 KJV

If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed.


________

Who else noticed I changed my narration style from 1st person to 3rd person POV?

The central theme of Sunday school today was compassion, Christ was compassionate towards us and died for us, and I decided to put something similar up. 

That aside, who else smells Christmas??? Seasons Greetings to everyone, may the essence of Christ’s birth never cease to make meaning in our lives. Amen

🎄

🍔 Cheeseburger. 

Standard

4 thoughts on “CLAIMING A NEW IDENTITY 

Leave a Reply

