EXP #1

EXP #1.11

“Your mother was always in love with him, we all went to the same secondary school and started university in Nigeria before she got a scholarship to study abroad, I joined her a year later. She always kept in touch with him though, we came back to Nigeria 6 years later and he was already married. 

“She was crazy in love and went on to have an affair with him thinking he’d leave his wife for her, she soon got pregnant, his wife didn’t have any children and he was excited, that was until the wife found out. They planned on escaping together, at that point my sister was very close to her delivery date, 2 days after they escaped Juliet fell into labour, it went on for 2 days and there were several complications. By the time she called me and I got to the hospital Nero, her lover was no where to be seen, she’d just delivered Vwaire, she died a few minutes later, they let me in to see her a few minutes before she passed on, she couldn’t say anything she just kept crying and calling for Nero, he’d apparently long since gone before I was alerted. Juliet was meant to have twins, but I was there right as she gave birth to Vwaire, I didn’t question anything, I went to Nero’s home to look for him afterwards and there was no one there, he’d changed his location of residence and I had no way to find him. Apparently my sister gave birth to you first, Brino and Nero made off with you, I don’t know what he expected to happen to my sister, but it’s just been just me and Vwaire ever since then” Vwaire’s aunt, my aunt- Aunty Juliana coughed and held her probably now lukewarm cup of coffee. She was a very strong woman and that was obvious, although a couple of tears escaped as she narrated her story, she kept her voice even and held her composure till the very end of it. 

It was the next morning and the four of us were seated around the dinning table, we were allegedly having breakfast but no one had been able to actually eat anything.

“I still think we should get a DNA test done”  I said aloud. 

I stared at everyone of them evenly, Aunty Juliana was about to say something but I beat her to it “All this is very new and also strange to me and I can’t help but feel like an outsider, I just want to be 100% sure that all of this is actually really true. Please”

Aunty Juliana nodded with understanding “when you are ready we can all go to the hospital”

“Thank you” I said then proceeded to stir my cup of tea with the teaspoon before downing it, Vwaire and Tinuade were seated next to one another on the dinning table and had been quiet through it all. I excused myself and went up to the room allocated to me. We left for the hospital a few hours later to get the DNA test done “Your results will be sent to you by tomorrow” the lab technician said although I had a feeling nothing was going to change, I just wanted to be 100% sure. 

The ride back to the house was basically uneventful until I saw a very familiar Honda Pilot parked right across the street from the house. As soon as the car was parked within the compound, I quickly jumped out of it and left the building, I took a few moments to admire my dream car as I walked towards it, the windows were tinted at the side and every other thing had been restored to it, it looked so brand new no one would ever have guessed that I crashed it about 3 weeks ago. 
“How did you find me?” I asked as soon as the door was opened even before I saw his face. 

He alighted from the car and looked at me with a raised eyebrow as if that was answer enough to my question “I thought I warned you never to run away from me again?”

“I didn’t run away, there was a mix-up at the party, someone mistook me for someone else”

“How does that even make any–

The Slave Master was cut off with the sound of the pedestrian gate being opened behind us. 

“Brino who is this?” Aunty Juliana asked as she stepped onto the road walking to where we stood. 

“Damiloju Rotimi-Savage ma, I’m Brino’s boyfriend” the Slave Master said turning on his charming airs as he walked up to Aunty Juliana with his hand outstretched for a shake. 

Aunty Juliana regarded his hand “Rotimi-Savage” she tasted the name “don’t tell me you are related to the business magnate, Demola Rotimi-Savage”

“I am actually, he’s my dad” the Slave Master said with a smile at being recognised.

Aunty Juliana’s face instantly morphed into one of contempt and probable disgust “You are related to that awful man? I never want to see you anywhere near my house again” the Slave Master was visibly taken aback by Aunty Juliana’s words, but she didn’t care, turning to me she said “How can this even be your boyfriend? I know his father, that man is bad news and you know what they say, like father like son be very careful with this one”

“Actually, he’s not my boyfreind”

________

I originally posted the incomplete version of this so it’s been completed and edited now. 

#ThursdaysAreForEXP #1

Next post on Friday.

A.N.T.I.C.P.A.T.E

<<EXP #1.10

>>EXP #1.12


🍔 Cheeseburger

Standard

Leave a Reply

