Words On Marble

LIBERTY 

​Romans 8:5 KJV

For they that are after the flesh do mind the things of the flesh; but they that are after the Spirit the things of the Spirit.

Someone asked what is my obsession with this scripture because I always go back to it over and again. 

Well, when I started learning to hear from God, this was the no #1 scripture he gave to me that I fully understood.

So it has already been established, you can’t follow God and follow the crowd. Number 2 is; you can’t do the things of God and continue to do the things of the world. Nope, it doesn’t work out that way. You can’t lead worship session in church and go back to sleep with your boyfriend, you can’t finish your Quiet Time only to go see an R-rated movie. You cannot do the things of God and still do the things of the flesh. It doesn’t work out. And I also learnt this the hard way. 

So at some point in my life I realised the works of literature I exposed myself to were not the best and the Holy Spirit made me to understand that I had to cut them off, but I was so sentimental and hung up over the beautiful world in my head, I couldn’t fully let go. I was stuck in limbo because I kept on going through all the storylines, the scenes, the characters and whatnot. 

It was a struggle, a very difficult one in fact and I had to talk to someone about it and she told me. 

“This life is made up of God and vanity. If it is not of God, then its vanity. And all these things that you are desperately hung up over that God wants you to let go off, they are not profitable. They don’t give life. Only Jesus gives life, all these things are death. You see it as a punishment that the Holy Spirit doesn’t want you to read all your fun novels and watch all your cool movies, but see, Christ gives liberty. God is not punishing you, but he’s liberating you from all these things that have power to enslave you.” 

After my friend explained this to me I went back to Romans 8:5 and I realised, I’m not of the flesh, I should not be hung up over things of the flesh because Christ has made me free and he has given me the power to do away with things that do not benefit. 

Galatians 5:1 KJV

Stand fast therefore in the liberty wherewith Christ hath made us free, and be not entangled again with the yoke of bondage.

___________

I just had to put the second scripture because the Bible is complete. 

👑 Àyànfé 

Standard

5 thoughts on “LIBERTY 

Leave a Reply

