EXP #1

EXP #1.25

“Hey” I said to the Slave Master as he stepped into the house in the evening.

He appraised me with a raised eyebrow as I lay sprawled on a single seat couch, remote in hand, channel surfing.

“Hey yourself” he answered much to my surprise “Are you alright?”

“I should be asking you same. Are you alright? Did you hit your head or something?” I replied amidst my shock.

He gave a low huff, which was probably meant to be a laugh “I’m asking about your health” he deadpanned “I was informed of your asthma attack earlier today”

“What don’t you know?” I wondered aloud.

“What triggered it?” he asked ignoring my question.

I shrugged and changed the station.

“Should I bring your dinner?” I asked changing the topic.

The Slave Master looked at me funny for a little bit before nodding his head and going on inside.

“Why don’t you eat with me?” the Slave Master suggested as I served him dinner.

“I already ate” I replied, not bothering to look up as I kept on with pouring water into his cup.

“Sit by me then” he insisted.
I looked up at him now, he stared back with an unwavering gaze, then with a sigh I propped myself on the dinning chair next to his.

“Wow” he said “I was kind of looking forward to you putting up a fight”

“I know” I muttered staring at my hands as I placed them before me on the table “I try not to be too predictable every time”

“Hmmn, thank God you’re always predictable every time I need you to be”

“What?” I asked out of sheer confusion and received no reply. Typical.

I drummed my fingers along the table out of boredom “Just how lonely are you?”

“Very” he replied with a sincere burst of emotion which caused me to look up at him.

His face was a million emotions in one, I had not expected that.

“Are you alright?” I asked softly, this wasn’t the Slave Master I was used to.
No reply, as usual.

“Well, if you’re lonely, I suggest that you surround yourself with people and make new friends”

The Slave Master gave a dead laugh “I don’t like being around too many people and making new friends is not exactly my thing”

“Well, that’s the only cure to your loneliness” I stated matter-of-factly.

“I’m fine like this, besides I’m not lonely, I have you to keep me company” he looked up at me with that said.

“Yeah” I admitted “But what happens when I pay up and clock out?”

He shrugged “I have a suggestion”

I looked at him eagerly urging him to go on.

“Instead of paying me up, why don’t you… you know… do me a favour?”

My eyebrows shot up thinking of only one kind of favour that a man could ask of a woman, the Slave Master reading my thoughts gave a nervous laugh and said incredulously “I’m not talking of that kind of favour” causing my heart rate to go back to its normal pace.

“I’m not really popular with your aunt, so you probably know that I’m not welcome at Judisque-Allan, I’ll need you to help me deliver something to Nosa Osaretin’s secretary on Thursday”

“And once I deliver this thing, I’m a free being?” I asked, it all seemed too good to be true.

“Of course not” said the Slave Master as he burst my bubble “we’ll have to wait for maybe a week and if everything goes according to plan, you can walk”

“If not?” I asked.

The Slave Master shrugged like that was enough of an answer.

If not, I’d still have to pay up.

But what could he have me deliver that would clear a debt that ran into millions?

It didn’t make sense.

Barely anything did with the Slave Master though.

I looked up at him, to find his gaze fixed on me.

“Are you gonna do it?” he asked.
I closed my eyes and wondered some more what I could possibly be delivering that would clear my debt in a week.

I sighed, as I weighed my options before looking up at him.

“Fine” I said.

The Slave Master stretched out his hand to me for a handshake saying “Do I have your word?”

“Sure, whatever” I said as I shook his hand.

He then gave a smile, a full-blown smile that had me feeling like I’d just sold my soul to the devil.

Oh God, what have I just agreed to?

___________

Yay! EXP #1

<< EXP #1.24

>> EXP #1.26

Just in case you’re lost click here start over.

Look out for navigation pointers at the end of the author’s notes to help you locate the next installment with ease.

👑 Àyànfé

Standard